2020 Blue Star Award Nominations

Theater Students Nominated for the 2020 Blue Star Awards
This is the image for the news article titled Theater Students Nominated for the 2020 Blue Star Awards

Students from across the Park Hill School District received nominations for Starlight Theatre’s Blue Star Awards. This year, the awards will take place July 31 at Starlight Theatre.  

Park Hill South High School received a nomination for “Annie.” The Park Hill South theater director is Kyle Lackey, the vocal director is Elizabeth Brockhoff and the orchestral director is Diane Markley. 

Park Hill High School received nominations for “Mary Poppins.” The PHHS theater director is Jennifer Jarman Sandau. The music director is Dr. Keith Curington and the choreographer is Mindy Moritz Belden. The orchestra director is Suzannah Smith and the accompanist is Liz Henderson. The Blue Star program recognizes outstanding high school musical and theater talent in the Kansas City metropolitan area. 


Outstanding Orchestra 


Outstanding Costume Design and Construction
Avyon Barnes and Ashtin Umstattd, crew managers

Outstanding Scenic Design and Construction
Lauren Louk and Parker Bennett, crew managers
Stagecraft students 

Outstanding Actress in a Featured Role 
Ella Sedlock

Outstanding Actor in a Lead Role

Maddox Bane