Skip To Main Content

Mobile Utility

Mobile Main Navigation

CTA Links

Header Holder

Logo & Title For Schools Only



Mobile Toggle ( don't delete )

Landing Nav


JEMKC Award Winners

JEMKC Award Winners text with school mascot images

Congratulations to our broadcast and print journalism students for their success at the Journalism Educators of Metro Kansas City (JEMKC) Awards! JEMKC is known for its tough competition, showcasing our students against the best journalism programs on both sides of the state line.


  • Layni Grego – First Place, News Story
  • Layni Grego – Second Place, Feature Story
  • Trojan TV News – First Place, Live Sports Broadcast (Mason Beane, Nathan Elliot, Layni Grego, Michael Williams)
  • Trojan TV News – Honorable Mention, Announcements with Video (Ella Allegri, Mason Beane, Emma Bushy, Nathan Elliot, Rylan Ferrin, Ashli Gamez, Layni Grego, Penny Harrison, Ricky Hoover, Artemis Irwin, Andrew Stone and Michael Williams)

Benjamin Merithew, Broadcast Instructor



  • First Place for Overall Broadcast Program through the JEMKC Sweepstakes Award (combined points total of all broadcast categories)
  • The South Side Scoop – First Place, Announcements, February 7, 2024 (Staff with Producers Regan Lea and Macy Morris)
  • Rin Abrahamson and Brody Stephens – First Place, Sports Story 
  • Tannah Jones – First Place, Sports Highlights
  • Rin Abrahamson and Sofie Staebell – First Place, Commercial
  • The South Side Scoop – Second Place, Newscast (Announcements w/Video), December 13, 2023 (Staff with Producer Regan Lea)
  • The South Side Scoop – Third Place, Live Sports Broadcast (Staff with Brayden Josendale and Tannah Jones, Announcers)

Justin Ford, Broadcast Instructor

  • Salma Kamal, Leah Haggard and Editors – Second Place, Yearbook Theme Package
  • Leah Haggard and Mya Quarles – Second Place, Yearbook Secondary Coverage
  • Sofia Jahraus – Second Place, Newspaper Column
  • Lexie Rodenbaugh – Second Place, Newspaper Single Page Design
  • Finn Wenta – Second Place, Yearbook Feature Photo
  • Isaac Brosas – Third Place, Newspaper Sports Action Photo
  • Lexie Rodenbaugh – Honorable Mention, Newspaper Editorial

Megan Palmer, Publications Adviser


More News

Be sure to read about our other celebrations. 

Park HilL News